Warrior Sports – Liverpool FC

As you all know by now, I’m a huge Liverpool FC fan, and as it’s summer, I’ve been a little more relaxed about my posts. All that will change in September, of course!

The brand, Warrior, is the new kid on the block in the footballing world, but they’ve actually been around since 1992. Seeing a gap in the market, Dave Morrow started Warrior as a means of getting the equipment he thought the sport was lacking, and the brand quickly grew. Dave’s progress with the company was apparent, and in 2004, Warrior was bought by New Balance. They then moved into Ice Hockey a year later.

In April of this year, Warrior partnered exclusively with my beloved Liverpool, bringing with it the most expensive kit sponsorship in English football at £25m a year for 6 years, surpassing Manchester United’s current deal with Nike by two million and doubling Liverpool’s previous sponsorship with Adidas. Warrior mean business, or as they would put it, “We Come Not To Play”.

The resulting home kit was released on the 1st June, and my god it’s amazing. In fact, I loved it so much, I went out and bought the whole thing. Something I haven’t done since I was around 8 or so! “What the heck”, I thought, I play a lot of sport.


It is a thing of beauty, though. A true throwback in terms of its style. But this isn’t a fashion blog.

The RedmenTV is “Uncensored Liverpool FC Television”, each week they humour us with numerous broadcasts featuring match analysis, transfer speculations, real fan opinions snatched from social media sites, and interviews.

This week they really spoiled me.

An interview with their Head of Product Marketing, Kenny McCallum, and they’ve let me snatch it for my blog.

Can you imagine how excited I was? Probably not.

The following interview gives you an incredible insight to the manufacturers side of designing the kit. It doesn’t matter if you don’t support Liverpool, if you find marketing/advertising/branding of interest then this video is for you.

I’ve also included another RedmenTV video featuring the impressionist Darren Farley. He’s incredible, I couldn’t not share it. If you want to see more of their stuff, you can do so, here.


Leave a Reply

