Escape The Map?

I’ve been meaning to Google this for so long now.

What IS Escape the Map?

“Destined to a life of solitude within the confines of Streetview, Marie needs your help to escape. It’s a strange world inside Streetview, and its effects on the human mind can be surprising; a place where life is anything but ordinary – a world full of glitches and digital vortexes.”

Well it seems what you have to do is help Marie “escape the map” (yes I know that bit is obvious) and in doing so you will be entered into a prize draw to win the Mercedes C Class Coupé. Basically you’re stuck in a real life Google Map and you have to pick a few directions to help her escape. Very Matrix. Very surreal.

You can also tweet Marie to give her some help, in return she’s giving away free Mercedes USB memory stick. (Yes please)

So I’ve just completed it now anyway, I helped her “escape the map”, at the end you’re required to give the girl your phone number and after that you enter in some of your details… Yes I caved, but you win a Merc! Who wouldn’t?!

I’m sitting here typing this all up and I get a phone call from an Unknown Number. I answer. It was Marie. Telling me how she’s safely back in London and to be careful. Nice touch.

At least I know what it’s all about now, don’t forget to cross your fingers for me! If I win I’ll give you all a ride somewhere nice?

A great campaign from Mercedes though and a great way for a company to use Social Media to provoke interaction with the consumers by appealing to their curiousity, as it did with me.

Strangest 5 minutes of my life though.

Advert Here
Escape The Map here

Leave a Reply

